The editors of Frontiers of Entrepreneurship Research 2002 wish to express thanks to the Conference participants for their scholarly efforts that made this book possible. One hundred and eighty-one papers were presented during the five days of conference sessions. In addition, thirty-one papers were presented in a successful poster session. Each year, contributions of participants continue to show concern for quality of content and breadth of topic, thus assuring that this volume continues to represent the most recent advances in research on entrepreneurial phenomena.

The Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship is very grateful to the Kauffman Foundation for its willingness to underwrite a portion of the conference costs, including support for thirty participants in the doctoral consortium. The Kauffman Foundation, together with the Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship, also provided a $2,500 prize for the best paper with the most significant implications for practitioners. In addition the following organizations provided additional support: the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) Award of $2,500 for the best paper on the general topic of entrepreneurship; The Taylor and Francis Publishers Award of $2,500 for the best paper on Venture Capital; The Stevens Institute of Technology Wesley J. Howe Award of $2,500 for Excellence in Research on the topic of Corporate Entrepreneurship; and The Raymond Family Business Award of $2,500 for the best paper on a family business topic. All of the winning papers are published in their entirety in this edition of Frontiers of Entrepreneurship Research and are listed at the beginning of the Detailed Table of Contents.

A sincere thank you to the following reviewers of the 2002 conference for their support and dedication to the field of entrepreneurship research: Candida G. Brush, Boston University; Per Davidsson, Jönkönping University; James Fiet, University of Louisville; Patricia G. Greene, University of Missouri, Kansas City; Richard T. Harrison, University of Edinburgh; Miri Lerner, Tel Aviv University; G. Dale Meyer, University of Colorado at Boulder; Jeffrey Sohl, University of New Hampshire; and Andrew Zacharakis, Babson College.

Special thanks to our cosponsor: Robert H. and Beverly A. Deming Center for Entrepreneurship,  Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado at Boulder, and to the enthusiastic support of Professor G. Dale Meyer. We are deeply grateful to Kathy Simon, director of the Deming Center, for her dedication and guidance to the successful execution of the conference. We would also like to thank Deming Center staff: Patty Graff, assistant director; Sara Tanner, conference coordinator; Vesper Tanaka, executive assistant; Denis Gregoire, PhD student; and Becca Morphew, student conference assistant. Additionally, our appreciation and sincere thanks go to the municipality of Boulder and its city council.

We would like to thank the members of the Doctoral Consortium including Professor of Management Dean Shepherd of the University of Colorado; Professor Shaker Zahra, Strategy and Entrepreneurship at Georgia State; and Professor Harry Sapienza, Strategic Management and Organization at the University of Minnesota.

The design and organization of the conference was carried out at Babson under the supervision of Conference Coordinator Georgia Papavasiliou. Typesetting was done by Deborah Whitford of Publishing Support Associates in Virginia. In addition, Meghan Cook, Keri Dookran, and Katie Ingalls, administrative assistants; Adrian Alleyne, Kuljit S. Dharni, John Hargrave, Scott Suckow, of Babson College; Chris Porter and Bradley Jacobs of Interliant. Everyone at Babson associated with the 2002 Conference, including the Document Center, Accounting Department, and Central Services, was instrumental in bringing this undertaking to another successful conclusion.


William D. Bygrave

Candida G. Brush

Per Davidsson

James Fiet

Patricia G. Greene

Richard T. Harrison

Miri Lerner

G. Dale Meyer

Jeffrey Sohl

Andrew Zacharakis