The editors of Frontiers of Entrepreneurship Research 2003 wish to thank all of the conference participants for their contribution in the field of entrepreneurship research which made this book possible. The 2003 Babson Kauffman Entrepreneurship Research Conference (BKERC) had one hundred and eighty-two papers presented during the three days of conference sessions, and twenty-seven papers were presented in a successful poster session. Each year, contributions of participants continue to show concern for quality of content and breadth of topic, thus assuring that this volume continues to represent the most recent advances in research on entrepreneurial phenomena.  

The Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship is very grateful to the Kauffman Foundation for underwriting a portion of the conference costs, including support for thirty participants in the doctoral consortium. The Kauffman Foundation, together with the Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship, also provided a $2,500 prize for the Best Paper with the Most Significant Implications for Practitioners. In addition, the following organizations provided additional awards: the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) Award of $2,500 for Excellence in Research on the General Topic of Entrepreneurship; the Taylor & Francis Publishers Award of $2,500 for Excellence in Research on the Topic of Venture Capital; The Stevens Institute of Technology Wesley J. Howe Award of $2,500 for Excellence in Research on the Topic of Corporate Entrepreneurship; and the Raymond Family Business Institute Award of $2,500 for the Best Paper on the Topic of Family Business. All of the winning papers are published in their entirety in this edition of  Frontiers of Entrepreneurship Research 2003 and are listed at the beginning of the Detailed Table of Contents. 

A sincere thank you to the following reviewers of the 2003 conference for their support and dedication to the field of entrepreneurship research: Candida G. Brush, Boston University; Per Davidsson, Jönkönping University; James Fiet, University of Louisville; Patricia G. Greene, Babson College; Richard T. Harrison, University of Edinburgh; Miri Lerner, Tel Aviv University; G. Dale Meyer, University of Colorado at Boulder; Jeffrey Sohl, University of New Hampshire; and Andrew Zacharakis, Babson College. 

We would like to thank the Coordinator of the Doctoral Consortium, Professor Shaker A. Zahra, Paul T. Babson Distinguished Professor in Entrepreneurship and the 2004 Director of the BKERC. 

The design and organization of the conference was carried out at Babson College under the supervision of Conference Coordinator Georgia Papavasiliou. Typesetting was done by Deborah Whitford of Publishing Support Associates in Virginia. In addition, Keri Dookran, and Katie Ingalls, and Katelyn Delaney, administrative assistants were involved in all the technical activities. Everyone at Babson College associated with the 2003 conference, including the Document Center, Accounting Department, and Central Services, Summer Programs, Public Safety, and Special Events, were instrumental in bringing this undertaking to another successful conclusion. 


    William D. Bygrave                 Richard T. Harrison 

    Candida G. Brush                                  Miri Lerner 

    Per Davidsson                                    G. Dale Meyer 

    James Fiet                                                 Jeffrey Sohl 

    Patricia G. Greene                       Andrew Zacharakis